RSL takes game 2 after penalty shootout

Diego Luna and Bryan Oviedo charge to the goal

America First Stadium, Sandy, UT – Real Salt Lake kept their playoff hopes alive with a win at home on a perfect run of Penalty Kicks. It was Diego Luna that kept his side perfect in the shootout and secured the win for RSL.

It didn’t look promising for the home club with a lack of ability to finish for most of the night. It was just the 28th minute when Justen Glad was called for a foul in the penalty box setting up Amine Bassi for a PK and the lone goal for Houston the night.

Savarino levels the score in regulation

With plenty of fouls and officiating that was at best inconsistent it was a tough road all night for the Claret and Cobalt. Chicho came of the bench and brought a new spark with him. A flurry of shots that followed culminated in a 70th minute shot from Jefferson Savarino to level the score and ultimately bring on the PKs.

With the win RSL returns to Houston on Saturday November 11th in a winner take all 3rd game of the round.

Goals by Period         1  2  F
Real Salt Lake             0  1  1 (5)
Houston Dynamo       1  0  1 (4)

Scoring Summary
HOU – Amine Bassi – 28′
RSL – Jefferson Savarino – 70′

Misconduct Summary
HOU – Steve Clark – 16′ – time wasting
HOU – Amine Bassi – 17′ – foul
RSL – Justen Glad – 27′ – foul
RSL – Bryan Oviedo – 33′ – not retreating
HOU – Griffin Dorsey – 48′ – foul
RSL – Brayan Vera – 52′ – foul
HOU – Coco Carrasquilla – 69′ – foul
HOU – Erik Sviatchenko – 71′ – foul

Referee: Fotis Bazakos
Assistant Referee: Chris Wattam
Assistant Referee: Brian Poeschel
4th Official: Armando Villerreal
Video Assistant Referee: Younes Marrakchi
AVAR: Peter Balciunas

Attendence: XXX


Real Salt Lake: Zac MacMath; Andrew Brody; Bryan Oviedo; Brayan Vera; Justen Glad; Braian Ojeda; Jefferson Savarino; Andres Gomez (Damir Kreilach, 90’+4′); Nelson Palacio; Diego Luna; Anderson Julio (Chicho, 55′)

Substitutes Not Used: Rubio Rubin; Maikel Chang; Danny Musovski; Emeka Eneli; Jasper Loffelsend; Kevon Lambert; Gavin Beavers

Houston Dynamo: Steve Clark; Franco Escobar (Teenage Hadebe, 75′); Griffin Dorsey; Erik Sviatchenko; Micael dos Santos; Artur; Hector Herrera; Coco Carrasquilla; Amine Bassi; Corey Baird (Alyiu, Ibrahim, 68′)(Thor Ulfarsson, 90’+4′); Nelson Quinones

Substitutes Not Used: Ethan Bartlow; Daniel Steres; Ivan Franco; Andrew Tarbell; Luis Caicedo; Sebastian Kowalczyk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *