Real Salt Lake unbeaten streak to 5

Mike Petke and Wilmer Cabrera

Rio Tinto Stadium, Sandy, UT – Real Salt Lake increased its unbeaten streak to five matches, but you won’t hear many fans excited about it.  With every match having playoff implications, and the opportunities dwindling it was known that RSL needed to capitalize on home field advantage, but this season has really not gone as planned.

Houston came to Rio Tinto and played a hunkered down, defensive match for almost ninety minutes. RSL just couldn’t finish with the Dynamo playing back for most of the match.  Even with 65% possession in the first half and 70% in the second, and Alex being sent off in the 65th minute, RSL just couldn’t get past all of congestion that Houston was able to put in the box all night long.

Rimando with another clean sheet

Real Salt Lake currently sits in 8th place in the west with 26 points with both Portland and Vancouver ahead of them with 31 and 10 more regular season games hopes for the playoffs is still a possibility, but with RSL drawing at home so often this season the time for this club is running out.



Goals by Period         1  2  F
Real Salt Lake                  0  0  0
Houston Dynamo             0  0  0

Scoring Summary:

Kyle Beckerman receives a yellow card

Misconduct Summary:
RSL – Justen Glad – 60′ – Hard foul
HOU – Alex – 65′ – Unsporting behavior
HOU – Alex – 66′ – Hard foul (Red)
RSL – Kyle Beckerman – 71′ – Unsporting behavior
HOU – Alberth Elis – 81′ – Elbow to the head
HOU – A.J. DeLaGarza – 90’+4′ – Time wasting


Referee: Robert Sibiga
Assistant Referee: Kathryn Nesbitt
Assistant Referee: Ian Anderson
4th Official: Alejando Mariscal

Attendence: 19,075


Real Salt Lake Starting XI

Real Salt Lake: Nick Rimando; Chris Wingert (Sebastian Saucedo, 87′); Marcelo Silva; Justen Glad; Tony Beltran; Sunday Stephen (Brooks Lennon, 604′); Kyle Beckerman; Albert Rusnak; Joao Plata; Jefferson Savarino; Luis Silva (Yura Movsisyan, 78′)

Substitutes Not Used: Lalo Fernandez; Danilo Acosta; David Horst; Luke Mulholland



Houston Dynamo Starting XI

Houston Dynamo: Tyler Deric; A.J. DeLaGarza; Adolfo Machado; Leonardo; Dylan Remick; Juan David Cabezas; Ricardo Clark; Alex; Andrew Wenger (Boniek Garcia, 78′); Memo Rodriquez (Alberth Elis, 56′); Mauro Manotas (Erick Torres, 68′)

Substitutes Not Used: Joe Willis; Jalil Anibaba; Kevin Garcia; Romell Quioto

Next up for RSL

Real Salt Lake is on the road Saturday August 12th to take on DC United.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *